kolkhoze printanium vol 1. kolkhoznitsa (2008)

Kolkhöze Printanium – Vol. 1 Kolkhöznitsa (2008)

Paul Brousseau: keyboards, voice and drums
Maxime Delpierre: guitars and effects
Hugues Mayot: sax
Philippe Gleizes: drums
Jean-Philippe Morel: bass and effects

01 – Sans Le Savoir
02 – Our Faces At the Motown (Part A)
03 – Our Faces At the Motown (Part B)
04 – Stalker At79
05 – Fsy Tokyo
06 – Kolkhöze
07 – Ssen Soupape
08 – Chaotic Mantra
09 – Kolkhöze Talk
10 – Morgenrot (Part A)
11 – Morgenrot (Part B)
12 – Errance Digitale
13 – Petrovsky 1988
14 – Surround
15 – Mana

The band creates a musical world, something apart, very profound without falling into the trap of exaggeration. It is not about the effects, it’s about the music. It is also very French, continuing the roads taken by Camisetas and Limousine, but taking it a step further. There is a little bit more drama, more cinematic effect, more staging, but that’s part of the listening fun. Not everything works though, and in my mind the last track could have been left out, but that’s a minor comment. Despite the music’s dark edge, the ultimate hope for humanity message comes through loud and clear. Absolutely impressive. [Free Jazz]

~ by 3brainkarnakinterloper on 07/18/2011.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: