The New Mellow Edwards – Big Choantza (2009)

Curtis Hasslebring: trombone
Chris Speed: clarinet, tenor saxophone
Trevor Dunn: acoustic bass
John Hollenbeck: drums and percussion

01 – Big Choantza
02 – First Loser
03 – Helkakelka, Helkakelka
04 – Sacks on the Beach
05 – Large Detective
06 – Annoying Guy
07 – Youth Against Fascism
08 – Good Job
09 – Backfat Vs. Fumi

Elevated by the stellar interpretations of his all-star band, Hasselbring’s idiosyncratic compositions find accord in a set brimming with congenial interplay. Diverse, but not dilettantish, Hasselbring’s mercurial writing is the real star of Big Choantza—a splendid sophomore effort from an under-sung composer. []

~ by 3brainkarnakinterloper on 07/22/2011.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: